Flight to future

Published on May 08, 2015 19:04:04 PM
The Chandrayaan-2, India’s second mission to the Moon, has Orbiter, Lander and Rover configuration. It is planned to be launched during 2017- 2018 timeframe, by Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) from Satish Dhawan Space Centre, Sriharikota, claims Minister of State in Prime Ministers office, Jitendra Singh.

According to the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Chandrayaan-2 will be an advanced version of the Chandrayaan-1 mission.

He further stated, "Six more satellites are planned to be launched during 2015-16. These are two communication satellites GSAT-6 and GSAT-15; three navigation satellites IRNSS-1E, IRNSS-1F & IRNSS-1G; and one space science satellite ASTROSAT."

In addition, it is also planned to launch 13 more satellites belonging to four countries using the Indian Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV). As of April 2015, the Indian Space Research Organisation (Isro) has launched 74 satellites.