Eagles fly high on home turf

Published on May 03, 2015 00:44:58 AM
Warner leads from the front as Sunrisers defeat mighty Chennai Super Kings by 22 runs
Captain David Warner led from the front with a 28-ball 61-run blitzkrieg as Sunrisers Hyderabad were in complete control of the match against might Chennai Super Kings at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium here on Saturday.

A capacity crowd around 29,000, who thronged the stadium, got their money worth with Warner’s fireworks. When the reports last came in, Chennai were tattering at 130 for five wickets in 15 overs needing another 63 runs in five overs. Earlier, Warner provided a solid paltform with a 86-run partnership in just 8.1 overs as Sunrisers Hyderabad scored a formidable 192 runs for seven wickets.

With the kind of start Warner gave, Sunrisers looked like scoring more than 200 runs but their troulbed middle order lost the plot in the middle. Thanks to Eoin Morgan’s unbeaten 32-run knock, Sunrisers still finished well scoring their second highest total in the IPL history.

Dhoni’s decision to invite Sunrisers for batting after winning the toss proved ineffective as opener Warner was off the blocks quickly smashing Mohit Sharma for boundary off the very first ball and rounded off the over with another on the last ball. He continued his liking for Mohit as he smashed him for 22 runs in the innings third over clobbering three fours and a six.

He then smashed Ashish Nehra for consecutive boundaries and welcomed Ronit More with a boundary as Sunrisers reached their 50-run mark in 4.1 overs. He and Dhawan made it 15 runs for the over. Warner then smashed Nehra for a boundary to reach his half-century in just 20 balls as Sunrisers amassed 76 runs at the end of the powerplay overs.

Dhoni brought in Suresh Raina to check the run flow and Raina succeeded in doing so by conceding just four runs in the seventh over. Bravo too contained the flow conceding just six in the eighth over. The two good overs seemed to have gotten into Warner’s nerves sa he went for a big shot off Raina but was holed out at the boundary by Dwayne Smith after adding 86 runs for the first wicket.

Next man in Moises Henriques cleared his intentions right from his arrival as he smashed Negi for two sixes. But he soon perished when Dhoni rattled the stumps after Henriques (19 from 11 balls) missed a Negi’s delivery. Sunrisers added 45 runs in the next five overs to reach 107 runs at the half-way stage.

Both Dhawan and Morgan got into the act smashing Negi for a four and six. Dhawan was dropped on 34 by Negi in the same over but that did not effect the CSK much as he was run out after adding another three runs in the 13th over. Trying to go for a tough second run, he was found short of the crease as Ravindra Jadeja’ strong throw did him in.

Next two overs yielded just four runs indicating the plight of the Sunrisers middle order. Play was halted with one of the floodlights went off for 18 minutes. When play resumed, Ojha edged consecutive balls for boundaries. Ojha hit one more for a boundary and Morgan hit a six in the same over to pick up 13 runs and looked like going after the bowlers. But Nehra returned to rattle Ojha (20 from 12 balls) to further dampen the run rate.

Local stars Ashish Reddy and GH Vihari did not contribute much with the bat. But it was Morgan who took Sunrisers to good total. For CSK, Bravo was the pick of the bowler with three for 25 runs.

Power failure halts play
Hosting the first home match for the Sunrisers Hyderabad, the Hyderabad Cricket Association seemed unprepared for the match as the power failure to one of the floodlights at the East Stand halted the play for 18 minutes. The floodlights went off in the 14th over after the first ball and caused the delay much to the crowd’s amusement. Players from both teams went off the field and cooled down in the dug out while CSK skipper MS Dhoni seen strategizing the plan.

Score Card
SunRisers Hyderabad:D Warner c Smith b Raina 61, S Dhawan run out 37, M Henriques st Dhoni b Negi 19, E Morgan not out 32, N Ojha b Nehra 20, A Ashish Reddy c Dhoni b Bravo 6, H Vihari c sub b Bravo 8, K Sharma c Jadeja b Bravo 4; Extras (LB-1, WD-3, NB-1) 5;
Total (7 wickets; 20 overs) 192;
Fall of wickets: 1-86, 2-107, 3-131, 4-156, 5-163, 6-188, 7-192;
Bowling: M Sharma 4-0-58-0, A Nehra 4-0-31-1, R More 2-0-28-0, S Raina 4-0-29-1, D Bravo 4-0-25-3, P Negi 2-0-20-1.