AIADMK MLA quits for Amma

Published on May 18, 2015 07:31:31 AM
P Vetrivel, AIADMK MLA from Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency, resigned on Sunday to make way for Jayalalithaa. Mr Vetrivel submitted his resignation on May 17 and it was accepted by Speaker P Dhanapal, confirmed Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly secretariat.

If Jaya contests from the Radhakrishnan Nagar constituency, it will be the first time she will be contesting from Chennai. The former chief minister represented Srirangam previously and many party insiders feel that the constituency did not bring any cheer to her and so this time, she might prefer any constituency of her choice.

AIADMK leaders are confident that Amma would win with huge majority, if she opts to contest.